www.travelhouseuk.co.uk ~ good ? bad ?
I booked a flight with this website recently and they helped me to find fairly cheap deal. Everything went alright till I said I wanted to change the flight date so they suggested me to change from Asiana airline to Cathay pacific which I am happy to change with the same ticket price. The problem arised when the agent said he can’t do my transaction . I called Natwest and checked with them and saw on my online statement the money had gone through and they even gave me an authorisation code which I can provide the agent so that he can make the transaction. But then he said there is no place on the web that he can put the code in ? He said I need to make the payment by 9:30 p.m and I only accepted the new deal plus confirm more than an hour before that. Now the money is deducted from my account but I failed to buy the ticket. Will it be returned after around 2 working days ?
Is that true that I need to pay in such a rush ?
I am so afraid that I fell in a trap.
Thanks for all the helpful answer.






I have looked at the Travelhouse website and it indicates they are a member of the Association of British Travel Agents (ABTA) so they should be legitimate. Did you use a debit card or credit card?
If it was a credit card your money is secure even if the firm goes bust. My suggestion is that you telephone them again and try and sort out your problems. If they remain unhelpful and don’t provide you with a ticket, contact ABTA http://www.abta.com
Comment by David S — May 5, 2011 @ 1:45 am
David, I think you are wrong. They are ATOL accredited and not a member of ABTA. I checked the number and travelhouseuk is not one of the trading names associated with that number. The names are:
9flights
Air Travel Guide
Crystal Travel
Philippine Holidays
Sam Travel & Tours
Travel Center UK
World Gate Travel Services
You can check this as they claim their number is 3517 and you can check an ATOL number on the Civil Aviation Authority’s website which is http://www.caa.co.uk/application.aspx?catid=490&pagetype=65&appid=2.
With prices like £109 return to Miami it’s so tempting, but be VERY wary of this company. Certainly pay on credit card and be sure what you want before you make a call / payment as you might find that flights wont be changed and / or you’ll be charged a fortune if there are subsequent amendments.
NOTE: I’m not saying they’re dodgy, but be aware that they might be.
Comment by WittZi — August 18, 2011 @ 11:49 pm
Don’t use TravelhouseUK. They are are VERY dodgy! I used them – bad mistake.
1. They make you jump through hoops when paying by credit card. They charge the fare by splitting it into 3 different transactions – then you have to contact your credit card company to find out the amounts, then phone back to tell Travelhouse what they were, at YOUR expense, before they issue the ticket.
2. Once I had done this there was then a 5 day delay with still no ticket issued. When I chased them up they said “We did send it, but we’re sending it again now”, and the email arrived minutes later. Of course they never sent it the first time.
3. They told me the return date on the ticket to Bali could be changed for a 75 pounds fee, I am now told the date CAN’T be changed, it’s a fixed ticket, use it or lose it, so to travel on my new return date I have to buy a separate one-way ticket home from Bali to UK at extra expense.
4. I am now complaining to TravelhouseUK, and I see they are NOT part of ABTA – only ATOL/IATA accredited, so if they fob me off I have nowhere to go with my complaint.
Learn from my mistake. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! You have been warned,
Comment by B T — September 10, 2011 @ 7:02 am
Well they are ATOL, I have done the business with them and find them very easy to deal with. Calling your bank and finding the payment is required only if you refuse to pay the service fee of £5.00 to check your details with the bank and that too is a one time procedure.
All your subsequent bookings are as simple as calling them.
Comment by Albert — October 7, 2011 @ 5:58 pm
I believe they are legitimate. I booked a ticket and then my brother got one for the same dsates to harare, they do make you “jump through hoops” by asking you to check exact amount from your bank that was charged.. i think thats a positive thing, these days u can not be careful enough abt your information being secure, this way they make sure the person using the card is te actual owner..
P.S my brother booked a week later than i did and got a 65 pounds higher fare.. but we still booked as they were comparatively cheaper.
Comment by Gunther Hounslow — October 7, 2011 @ 6:03 pm
Hi Guys,
Reply to question #3
Anyone can charge the amount from a debit/credit card with the following details
1. Long number on the card
2. Expiry Date of the Card
3. CVC number (3 digit number from the back of the card)
NAME DONESNT EVEN APPPEAR on the online that under whose name the CARD is.
Now lets say your card has been stolen, somebody calls us give us your card details and we give them the ticket then have you ever wondered WHO IS PAYING for the ticket?
yeeeeaahhhhh!!!!! Its you who are paying for the ticket.
Thats why travelhouse uk has this security check where they charge you something in pennies but they dont let customer know. Now if you would be the legit customer you will easily get the amount in pounds and pennies by calling your bank, but if someone else is using your card then he/she will not be able to do this because to speak with the bank you have to pass
through certain security questions.
So security check is there to stop the fraud and proves to be a security of your card and customer just have to call once, after that in the future if they are paying with the same card, they don’t need to call the bank.
Hope this info will clear confusion!!!!!!!
Comment by Ian Hunt — October 12, 2011 @ 1:39 pm
Hi guys,
how is on travelhouse favour they are liar and for sure those people work for travel house and ow i know so many advisor how work for travel house like james = zeeshan , Ian hunt = ahmed and Naz = nazir
so dont trust them : after alli have to buy a ticket from http://www.cheapflightfares.co.uk ,finally bit satisfaction
Comment by Lin — January 20, 2012 @ 5:10 pm
Yes
Comment by Cheap flights to Accra — January 20, 2012 @ 5:11 pm
Arik Air £160, Search and Book get discount on Cheap Flights to Nigeria worldwide. Search millions of flights deals online and get Bargain Flights from all uk airlines.
Comment by ddsmith — February 22, 2012 @ 6:49 am
Book Cheap Flights to Nigeria with Arik Air from London Heathrow, Get Special Discount on Christmas and Easter bookings. Are you Looking to Buy Arik Air at Cheapest Rates? Than Try us Call at 0208 090 4072.
Comment by Arik Air Uk — February 22, 2012 @ 6:50 am
Book your flight with Arik Air UK from London Heathrow to Lagos, Abuja, Port Harcourt, Owerri, Calabar, Benin, Akure, Warri, Enugu, Sokoto, Yola, Jos, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Maiduguri, Gombe, West Africa: Accra, Cotonou, Freetown, Banjul, Dakar.
Comment by Arik Air — February 22, 2012 @ 6:51 am
Book your flight with Arik Air UK from London Heathrow to Lagos, Abuja, Port Harcourt, Owerri, Calabar, Benin, Akure, Warri, Enugu, Sokoto, Yola, Jos, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Maiduguri, Gombe, West Africa: Accra, Cotonou, Freetown, Banjul, Dakar.
Comment by Arik Air Uk — March 28, 2012 @ 6:06 pm